Summer Training 2017

The Urban Big Data Centre at the University of Glasgow is pleased to announce the return of our SASNet data skills development training programme for summer 2017.

The month-long programme will run from the beginning of August with a large selection of short training courses to choose from offering an opportunity for skills development in key areas of data analytics, methods, and data management. As well as repeating popular courses from previous years we have responded to course feedback and requests we have received over the last year and will be offering several new courses.

Our full selection of summer training courses for 2017 is listed in the table below. Click on the course name for Eventbrite booking page and further course information. Please note each course is limited to 20 places so may fill up quickly.

Please contact keith.maynard@glasgow.ac.uk with any enquiries about the training programme.

 

Location: Jura Teaching Lab, University of Glasgow Library (map)

Date

Time

Course Name

Tuesday 1st August 2017

10am – 4:30pm

Introduction to ArcGIS

Wednesday 2nd August 2017

10am – 1pm

Introduction to Network Analysis in ArcGIS

 

Monday 7th August 2017

10am – 4:30pm

Introduction to R

Tuesday 8th August 2017

10am – 4:30pm

Using R: Mapping Spatial Data

Wednesday 9th August 2017

10am – 4:30pm

Introduction to Scientific Computing with Python

Thursday 10th August 2017

10am – 4:30pm

Introduction to QGIS

Friday 11th August 2017

10am – 4:30pm

Principles of Visualising Data with R and ggplot

 

Tuesday 29th August 2017

10am – 1pm

Getting started with Data Management

 

Tuesday 29th August 2017

1:30pm – 4:30pm

”Beyond Excel”: PostgreSQL for Data Management

 

Wednesday 30th August 2017

10am – 1pm

Introduction to Areal Data Modelling using R

 

Wednesday 6th September 2017

10am – 1pm

Measuring Segregation and Scale in R